YGOrganization | [OCG] 2/5/2024 Rulings Update

Published:

Various updates from the last few weeks.

“Will the effects of a Tribute Summoned Caius the Shadow Monarch or Caius the Mega Monarch activate if the effect of Imperial Iron Wall is applying?”
Q: If the effect of Imperial Iron Wall is applying, will the effect of Caius the Shadow Monarch activate when it is Tribute Summoned? Also, if the effect of Imperial Iron Wall is applying, will the effect of Caius the Mega Monarch activate when it is Tribute Summoned?
A: The effects of Caius the Shadow Monarch and Caius the Mega Monarch are Trigger Effects that must be activated when they are Tribute Summoned. Even if the effect of Imperial Iron Wall is applying, their effects will activate and start a Chain. However, since cards cannot be banished due to the effect of Imperial Iron Wall, no card can be targeted, and the effects of Caius the Shadow Monarch and Caius the Mega Monarch are not applied when they resolve.

Source

“Can I activate the effect of a Ritual Summoned Nekroz of Sophia while the effects of Kycoo the Ghost Destroyer or Necrovalley are applying?”
Q: In each of the following situations, can I activate the second effect of Nekroz of Sophia?
(A) While the effect of my opponent’s Kycoo the Ghost Destroyer is applying.
(B) While the effect of Necrovalley is applying.
A: In the (A) situation, the effect of Nekroz of Sophia can be activated. If the effect of Kycoo the Ghost Destroyer is applying when the effect resolves, only the cards on the field are banished.
Even in the (B) situation, the effect of Nekroz of Sophia can be activated. If the effect of Necrovalley is applying when the effect resolves, and there are any cards in either GY, the effect of Nekroz of Sophia will be one that applies to cards in the GY so it is negated. (Cards on the field aren’t banished either.) When resolving the effect of Nekroz of Sophia, if there are no cards in either GY, all cards on the field are banished.

Source

“Can I activate the Pendulum Effect of Wisdom-Eye Magician if the effects of Anti-Spell Fragrance or Diabellz of the Original Sin are applying?”
Q: If the effects of Anti-Spell Fragrance or Diabellz of the Original Sin are applying, can I activate the Pendulum Effect of Wisdom-Eye Magician?
A: Yes, you can. (If activated, the effect is applied normally.) Placing a Pendulum Monster into your Pendulum Zone with the effect of Wisdom-Eye Magician is not treated as activating a Spell Card.

Source

“If a Fusion Summon is performed by the effect of Predaplant Verte Anaconda, will the effect of Magical Meltdown be applied?”
Q: When the second effect of Predaplant Verte Anaconda is activated, will the effect of Magical Meltdown be applied?
A: No, it will not apply. Even if a Fusion Summon is performed due to the effect of Predaplant Verte Anaconda, it was not treated as “an effect that Fusion Summons a Fusion Monster” and so the effects of Magical Meltdown, Dragonroid, and Branded Lost are not applied.
For example, if your opponent activated Solemn Strike, the activation of the effect of Predaplant Verte Anaconda would be negated. Even if the Fusion Summon was successful, your opponent could activate card effects at that point.
The same applies if the following effects are activated and a Fusion Summon is performed.
– Junk Collector
– Witchcrafter Genni
– Dinomorphia Kentregina
– Dinomorphia Reversion
– Dual Avatar Compact
– Fake Feather
– Trap of Darkness
– Fusion Duplication
– Transaction Rollback

Source

“If I use Ancient Gear Dark Golem as a Fusion Material for Ancient Gear Megaton Golem, will it be treated as using Ancient Gear Golem as Fusion Material?”
Q: If I Fusion Summon Ancient Gear Megaton Golem using Ancient Gear Dark Golem as a material, will that Ancient Gear Dark Golem be treated as Ancient Gear Golem for the Fusion Summon?
A: If the first effect of Ancient Gear Dark Golem is applying when it is used as Fusion Material for Ancient Gear Megaton Golem, it will be treated as using Ancient Gear Golem as a material.
For example:
● If a face-up Ancient Gear Dark Golem is used as material
● If an Ancient Gear Dark Golem in the GY is used as material
If the first effect of Ancient Gear Dark Golem is not applying when it is used as material for Ancient Gear Megaton Golem, it will not be treated as using Ancient Gear Golem as a material.
For example:
● If an Ancient Gear Dark Golem in the hand or Deck is used as material
● If a face-down Defense Position Ancient Gear Dark Golem is used as material
● If an Ancient Gear Dark Golem whose first effect is negated is used as material

Source

“What happens if Vaalmonica Disarmonia is banished as the cost to activate the effects of Angello Vaalmonica or Dimonno Vaalmonica?”
Q: Vaalmonica Disarmonia is banished for the cost of the last effects of Angello Vaalmonica or Dimonno Vaalmonica. In that case, how is its effect applied?
A: The part of the effect that places a Resonance Counter on a card in your Pendulum Zone is not applied, but the appropriate “●” effect will be applied.
If you activated the effect of Angello Vaalmonica, apply the effect “● Gain 500 LP, then you can add 1 of your banished “Vaalmonica” cards to your hand, except “Vaalmonica Disarmonia”.”
If you activated the effect of Dimonno Vaalmonica, apply the effect “● Take 500 damage, then you can add 1 “Vaalmonica” card from your GY to your hand, except “Vaalmonica Disarmonia”.”

Source

“If the effect of Minerva, Lightsworn Athena is applying, can the effect of Enlightenment Dragon be activated?”
Q: Minerva, Lightsworn Athena is face-up in my Monster Zone, and its effect “”Lightsworn” monsters you control cannot be banished by card effects” is applying. In this situation, can I activate the effect of Enlightenment Dragon that banishes all other cards on the field and in the GYs?
A: It can be activated as long as there is a card present that can be banished. (In this context, a card “that can be banished” refers to any card other than one that explicitly “cannot be banished” due to an effect. For example, a monster that is unaffected by monster effects would not be banished as a result, but for this purpose it is still counted as a monster that can be banished.)
Examples include the following situations.
● Your opponent controls at least 1 card.
● There is at least 1 card in either GY.
However, if there are no cards in either GY, and the only other cards on the field are your Minerva, Lightsworn Athena and other face-up “Lightsworn” monsters, there are no cards present that can be banished, so the effect of Enlightenment Dragon cannot be activated.

Source

“Can I add Nightmare Throne to my hand using the effects of Spirit of Yubel or Nightmare Pain?”
Q: Can I add Nightmare Throne to my hand with the effect of Spirit of Yubel?
A: No, you cannot.
A Spell/Trap Card that mentions Yubel that you can add to your hand with the effect of Spirit of Yubel refers to a Spell/Trap with the specific card name “Yubel” written in its text. The text of Nightmare Throne refers to “Yubel” monsters, which are any monsters with “Yubel” in their names, and does not refer specifically to the card named “Yubel”.
Therefore, when you activate the effect of Spirit of Yubel, you cannot choose Nightmare Throne as the card to add to your hand.
Similarly, you cannot add Nightmare Throne to your hand with the effect of Nightmare Pain.

Source

“Even if I do not have any cards in my Pendulum Zone, can I activate the monster effects of Angello Vaalmonica or Dimonno Vaalmonica by banishing Vaalmonica Disarmonia as cost?”
Q: Even if I don’t have any cards in my Pendulum Zone that can have Resonance Counters on them, can I still activate the monster effects of Angello Vaalmonica or Dimonno Vaalmonica by banishing Vaalmonica Disarmonia as cost?
A: Yes, you can.

Source

“Can I activate the effect of Tenpai Dragon Zhongdora that was Special Summoned by activating the effect of Tenpai Dragon Fadora at the start of the Damage Step?”
Q: At the start of the Damage Step when a monster battles, I activate the effect of Tenpai Dragon Fadora and Special Summon Tenpai Dragon Zhongdora. In this case, can I activate the effect of the Special Summoned Tenpai Dragon Zhongdora that Special Summons a Level 4 or lower FIRE Dragon monster from the Deck?
A: No, you cannot. Trigger Effects that must be activated “at the start of the Damage Step” can only be activated in the first Chain at the start of the Damage Step. Therefore, the effect of the Special Summoned Tenpai Dragon Zhongdora cannot be activated after the effect of Tenpai Dragon Fadora has resolved.

Source

“Can I activate the effect of The Bystial Lubellion if the effects of Anti-Spell Fragrance or Diabellz of the Original Sin are applying?”
Q: If the effects of Anti-Spell Fragrance or Diabellz of the Original Sin are applying, can I activate the last effect of The Bystial Lubellion?
A: Yes, you can. (When it resolves, even if the effects of Anti-Spell Fragrance of Diabellz of the Original Sin are still applying, the effect is applied normally.) Placing a “Branded” Continuous Spell/Trap on the field with the effect of The Bystial Lubellion is not treated as activating a Spell/Trap Card.

Source

“Can I activate Silence Towards the Future if I cannot draw cards?”
Q: I activated Pot of Prosperity this turn, and cannot draw cards by card effects. Can either player activate Silence Towards the Future this turn?
A: Each player can activate it under any of the following circumstances.
● It is outside of the Battle Phase
● It is the Battle Phase but they do not control Gold Sarcophagus of Light
● It is the Battle Phase and they control Gold Sarcophagus of Light, but do not control a face-up monster in their Monster Zone that mentions Gold Sarcophagus of Light
It cannot be activated by either player in the following situation.
● It is the Battle Phase, and they control both Gold Sarcophagus of Light and a face-up monster in their Monster Zone that mentions Gold Sarcophagus of Light

Source

“What happens if the activated effects of my “Melodious” Fusion Monsters cannot be negated, and the effect of a Schuberta the Melodious Maestra whose effects have been negated is activated?”
Q: Bacha the Melodious Maestra is face-up in my Monster Zone, and its effect “Your “Melodious” Fusion Monsters’ activated effects cannot be negated while you control this Fusion Summoned card” is applying. In this situation, if I activate the effect of Schuberta the Melodious Maestra, but the effect of Infinite Impermanence has been applied to it, what happens?
A: The effect will banish the targeted cards without being negated. Furthermore, it gains 200 ATK for each card banished, but that part effect immediately stops applying. (Unless other effects are applying, the ATK of Schuberta the Melodious Maestra will be 2400.) After the turn ends, the ATK increase from the effect will not be reapplied. (Unless other effects are applied, the ATK of Schuberta the Melodious Maestra remains 2400.)

Source

“When a Link Summon is performed by activating the effect of I:P Masquerena, can the effect of Sauravis, the Ancient and Ascended be activated?”
Q: When a Link Summon is performed using the effect of I:P Masquerena, can I activate the second effect of Sauravis, the Ancient and Ascended?
A: If the effect of I:P Masquerena was activated as Chain Link 1, the effect of Sauravis, the Ancient and Ascended can be activated to negate the Link Summon. If the effect of I:P Masquerena was activated as Chain Link 2 or higher, the effect of Sauravis, the Ancient and Ascended cannot be activated.
The following effects also cannot be activated when a monster is Normal Summoned, Synchro Summoned, Xyz Summoned, Pendulum Summoned, or Link Summoned by an effect that was activated as Chain Link 2 or higher.
Monsters:
– Thunder King Rai-Oh
– Steelswarm Roach
– T.G. Halberd Cannon
– T.G. Halberd Cannon/Assault Mode
– Stardust Warrior
– Elemental Grace Doriado
– Nidhogg, Generaider Boss of Ice
– Predaplant Triphyoverutum
– Borreload Riot Dragon
– El Shaddoll Grysta
– Number C79: Battlin’ Boxer General Kaiser
– Seed-Spitting Saplings
– Koa’ki Meiru Overload
– Infernoid Flood
– The Weather Painter Rainbow
– Herald of Ultimateness
– Evolzar Laggia
– Cosmic Blazar Dragon
Traps:
– Dark World Punishment
– Angel Statue – Azurune
– Forced Back
– Horn of Heaven
– Black Horn of Heaven
– Gravity Collapse
– Saber Hole
– Drytron Meteor Shower
– The Selection
– Wattcancel
– Chaos Trap Hole
– Pendulum Hole
– Vanquishing Light
– Floowandereeze and the Scary Sea
– Solemn Judgment
– Solemn Warning
– Solemn Strike
– Solemn Scolding
– Champion’s Vigilance
– Dream Mirror Oneiromancy
– Paradox Fusion
– Majespecter Tempest

Source

Related articles

Recent articles

spot_img